Institutional Responsibilities

2019 – 2021
Member of the Editorial Board of the Open Access Journal Media and Communication

Scientific Board of the PROTAGORAS symposium on “Europe facing populists in power: communication strategies and practices”, Brussels

2018, 2020
Substitute head of the master program in Media, Communication and Information Technology (6 months each), NTNU, Trondheim

2019 – present
Member of the program board of the interdisciplinary bachelor program in Media Science, NTNU, Trondheim

2019 – present
Deputy member of the National Academic Council for Media Studies, Norway

2016 – present
Vice-Chair of ECREA’s Political Communication Section
with A. Schuck (Chair, University of Amsterdam) & V. Štětka (Vice-Chair, Loughborough University)

2014 – 2017
Member of the Campus TV Board, JGU Mainz

2012 – 2016
Representative of the YECREA in ECREA’s Political Communication Section

2012 – 2016
Vice officer for equal opportunities, Faculty of Social Sciences, Media, and Sports, JGU Mainz

2011 – 2015
Representative of Young Scholars in the German Communication Association (DGPuK)

2012 – 2013
Member of the advisory board of the Alumni Foundation Mainz

2010 – 2011
Spokesperson of NapoKo (Network of Young Scholars in Political Communication)

Reviewer service for ICA; ECREA; DGPuK; Netzwerk Medienstrukturen; Austrian Journal of Political Science; Central European Journal of Communication; Feminist Media Studies; Information, Communication & Society; Journal of Information Technology & Politics; Journalism Studies; Medien & Kommunikationswissenschaft; Medien & Zeit; New Media & Society; Political Communication; Politics & Gender; Publizistik; The International Journal of Press/Politics


2020 – 2021
Program chair of ECREA’s Political Communication Section for the European Communication Conference 2021, Braga, Portugal

Member of the Conference Committee of the ECREA Political Communication Conference 2019 “Transforming Communication – Old and New Borders”, Poznan (with A. Stępińska, A. Schuck & V. Štětka)

Co-Organizer of an international workshop on Automated Content Analysis, NTNU, Trondheim (with T. Aalberg, K. Dyrstad & P. Maurer)

2018 – 2020
Organizer of and mentor in the first round of the Mentoring Program for Young Scholars in Political Communication Research, sponsored by ECREA’ Political Communication Section

Organizer of YECREA-Sponsored Workshop: “How to Successfully Publish in Peer-Reviewed Journals”. Participants: C. de Vreese, K. Kleinen-von Königslöw & J. Strömbäck. Odense

Co-Organizer of the 58th Annual Conference of the German Communication Association (DGPuK), Mainz
Organizer of a series of events for students’ information on jobs, Department of Communication, JGU Mainz (with V. Granow & P. Schneiders)

Host of the 1st Conference of Young Scholars of the German Communication Association (DGPuK), Mainz (with S. Geiß, A. Schnauber, P. Weichselbaum & S. Engesser)

Host of the 12th Annual Conference of the Methods Section of the German Communication Association (DGPuK) on “Methodological challenges of comparative research”, Vienna (with B. Stark)

Host of the 2nd NapoKo Colloquium for Young Scholars in Political Communication, Vienna (with O. Gruber)